Peter Rosen Fellows Society


As scholars complete the Scholar/Mentor program, they are inducted into the Peter Rosen Fellows Society. The fellows society was renamed to honor Dr. Rosen’s contribution to Emergency Medicine and the Foundation.

Dr. Rosen, considered by many to be the father of Emergency Medicine, was the original author and current editor of Rosen’s Emergency Medicine: Concepts and Clinical Practice. Dr. Rosen’s extensive experience led him to consult on a wide array of academic and clinical Emergency Medicine topics, specifically focusing on the establishment of Emergency Medicine as a specialty and creating Emergency Medicine residency programs. He had a distinguished career in Emergency Medicine, having served in official capacities of many academic societies and committees. Dr. Rosen served on the Board of Directors of the American Board of Emergency Medicine and was president of the Colorado Chapter of the American College of Emergency Physicians. He was also a founding member of the American Trauma Society. Dr. Rosen won the American College of Emergency Medicine’s award for outstanding contributions and leadership in 1977 and again in 1984. In 1990, he also won the most prestigious award in Emergency Medicine, the Leadership Award for Outstanding Contribution to Academic Emergency Medicine from the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine. Dr. Rosen is widely recognized for his many contributions to academic Emergency Medicine.  

The current members are:

  • Chris Coyne, MD, University of California San Diego (2019)
  • Michael Filbin, MD, Harvard University, Massachusetts General (2019)
  • Michael Ganetsky, MD, Harvard University, Beth Israel (2019)
  • Jarrod Mosier, MD, University of Arizona (2019)
  • Gentry Wilkerson, MD, University of Maryland  (2019)
Copyright National Foundation of Emergency Medicine, 2020. All Rights Reserved.